SSL Certificate
A Coeducational, College Preparatory School for Ages 3 Through Grade 12
Episcopal School of Dallas
A Coeducational, College Preparatory School for Ages 3 Through Grade 12


The Episcopal School of Dallas has a long tradition of hosting visiting authors. Former students, many of whom are current ESD parents, have mentioned their fond memories of these visits. They still treasure the autographed copies of favorite titles signed by the authors.


The Elizabeth Anne Worsham Endowed Visiting Author Fund was created in 2004 by Mr. and Mrs. Joseph I. Worsham II, friends, and family in memory of Elizabeth Anne Worsham ’13. “Children who love to read become adults who love to read, a wonderful gift for a lifetime of enjoyment,” says Bonnie Tollefson, Lower School Librarian. “The annual Visiting Author Program supports that development, and we think of Elizabeth and her love of books and reading every day when we gather round her special rocking chair to read books aloud for story time. The chair features the scripture verse from Mark 10:14, ‘Let the little children come to me.’ It is depicted by an intricate carving of Jesus surrounded by children.”

The 2016 Elizabeth Anne Worsham Visiting Author was Chris Barton, author of picture books such as Whoosh and The Amazing Age of John Roy Lynch and more!



2017-18: Kimberly Willis Holt
2016: Chris Barton
2015: Grace Li
2014: Kate Klise
2013: Jarrett Krosoczka
2012: Dan Yaccarino
2011: George Shannon

2010: Janie Bynum
2009: Seymour Simon
2008: Steven Kellogg
2007: Will Hillenbrand
2005: David Schwartz
2004: Patricia Polacco
2003: Helen Lester
2002: Janie Bynum
2002: David Wisniewski
1999: Bernard Waber
1999: Dan Gutman
1998: Bill Wallace
1996: John Gile
1994: Michael J. Rosen
1994: John Erickson
1993: Scott Cook
1993: Kenneth Koch
1992: Pamela Stacey
1992: Elizabeth Winthrop
1991: K. Smith
1990: Jim Trelease
1990: Marc Brown
1990: Lois Lowry
1990: Felicia Bond
1989: Bill Wallace
1989: Bernard Waber
1989: Paul O. Zelinsky
1988: John Erickson
1988: Tom Townsend
1988: Madeleine L'Engle
1988: Pat Cummings
1988: Paul Fleishman
1987: Diane Stanley
1987: Barbara Williams
1986: Bill Wallace
1986: Steven Kroll
1985: Leonard & Ethel Kessler
1985: Johanna Hurwitz
1984: Franklyn Branley
1984: George Shannon
1984: Tana Hoban
1983: Jim Trelease
1983: Clyde Robert Bulla
1982: Syd Hoff
1982: Jean Fritz
1981: Karla Kuskin
1980: Jose Aruego
1980: Donald Sobol
1979: Marc Brown
1979: Zilpha Keatley Snyder
1979: Eleanor Cameron
1978: Robert Quackenbush
1978: Sid Fleischman
1977: Lillian Hoban
1977: Scott Corbett
1977: Ellen Raskin
1976: Robert Burch
1976: Jean Craighead George
1976: Leonard Everett Fisher
1975: Byrd Baylor

Lower School

4344 Colgate Avenue
Dallas, Texas, 75225

Middle & Upper School

4100 Merrell Road
Dallas, Texas, 75229

Wolf Run Ranch

located near Anna, Texas

powered by finalsite