Desktop Menu

Mobile Menu

A Coeducational, College Preparatory School for Ages 3 Through Grade 12

The other one

Create a new Password

Please enter your username and create a new password.

ESD Student Publications Take Home Top Awards in Journalism Contests

Updated with new awards 5/17/22

All three of our ESD student publications, the Carillon yearbook, the Eagle Edition newspaper, and the Itinerary literary magazine, have been awarded top honors in journalism contests across the country.

Annually, the National Scholastic Press Association honors the country’s top scholastic journalism programs with their premier award, the Pacemaker Award. Judged by teams of professionals, entries in the areas of Magazine, Newspaper, and Yearbook (among others) are evaluated based on the following: coverage and content; quality of writing and reporting; leadership; design; photography; and graphics. We are proud to announce that this year, all three publications–Itinerary, Eagle Edition, and Carillon–received this most prestigious award.

In addition to the Pacemaker Award, our publications and student staff members were also awarded a variety of Best in Show Awards from NSPA, as well as "Best in Texas" awards from the Texas Association of Journalism Educators (TAJE). Both the Eagle Edition and Itinerary also earned prestigious Gold Crown awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CPSA) earlier this year, which you can view by clicking here.

See below for a full list of our top awards from NSPA and TAJE. Congratulations, Eagles!


National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA)

NSPA Pacemaker Award:


Eagle Edition


NSPA Best of Show Awards (announced at the Los Angeles Convention Spring 2022):


2nd Place: Eagle Edition

Literary Arts Magazine

1st Place: Itinerary

Magazine design

1. Charlotte Clark '21

2. Emily Lichty '22

3. Susanna Newsom '21

Newspaper design

1. Emily Lichty '22, Gina Montagna '22, Elisabeth Siegel '23

4. Emily Lichty '22, Grace Worsham '23

9. Maddy Hammett '23

Yearbook design

3. Mackenzie Brooks '23

8. Sophie Goelzer '23


Texas Association of Journalism Educators (TAJE)

Best in Texas Awards:

Subjective Writing - Newspaper

Best of the Best: Elisabeth Siegel '23

Page Design - Newspaper

Best of the Best: Emily Lichty '22 and Iris Hernandez '24


Dallas Morning News High School Journalism Competition

Each year, The Dallas Morning News honors the winners of its high school journalism competition. Entries include work from student newspapers, yearbooks and digital news organizations from high schools across North Texas. This year’s 31st annual contest included nearly 400 entries from 21 schools. They were judged by News editors and reporters. 

Illustration or cartoon portfolio

Winner: Maddy Hammett '23

Sports reporting

Finalists: Maddy Hammett '23 and Charlotte Tomlin '24

Sports feature

Finalist: Callie Hawkins '23

Series or project

Finalists: Abby Baughman '24, Kara Dross '22, Easterly Yeaman '24, and Charlotte Tomlin '24

Page design portfolio

Finalist: Emily Lichty '22

Finalist: Gina Montagna '22

Best pandemic coverage

Finalists: Brooke Ebner '25, Lyle Hawkins '25, Jamie Henderson '25, Phoebe McMillan '25, Sophia Sardina '25, John Schindel '25, Lauren Shushi '25, and Charlotte Traylor '25
Best newspaper

Finalist: Eagle Edition


Interscholastic League Press Conference (ILPC) - University of Texas at Austin

The Eagle Edition received a Gold Star Award for their 2021-22 work.

TOPS IN TEXAS (Best in the entire state)

Headlines: Easterly Yeaman '24, Elliot Lovitt '24, Charlotte Tomlin '24, Elisabeth Siegel '23, Olivia Hohmann '24, Maddy Hammett '23

Feature Writing

First Place: Charlotte Tomlin '24

Personal Column

First Place: Maddy Hammett '23

Entertainment Feature

First Place: Grace Worsham '23

Second Place: Easterly Yeaman '24

Feature Page Design

First Place: Olivia Hohmann '24 and Elisabeth Siegel '23

Third Place: Grace Worsham '23 and Emily Lichty '22

Entertainment Page Design

First Place: Gina Montagna '22

Student Art

Second Place: Emily Lichty '22

Editorial Writing

Second Place: Elisabeth Siegel '23

Sports News Story

Third Place: Alexandra Warner '23

Personal Column Opinion

Third Place: Miles Wooldridge '24

Sports Column

Third Place: Callie Hawkins '23


Third Place: Sarah Cabrales '23

Page One Design

Third Place: Callie Hawkins '23, Alexandra Warner '23, and Grace Worsham '23

Sports Feature Photo

Third Place: Callie Hawkins '23

Carillon received a Silver Star Award for their 2021 yearbook

Feature Spread

First Place: Sally Tomlin '23

Student Life Spread

Second Place: Kate Elliston '22

Ad Design

Third Place: Cleo Neuhoff '21, Anna Baranski '22

Theme Selection and Development

Third Place: Staff

Club Organizations Spread

Third Place: Lillian Nettle '22