Desktop Menu

Mobile Menu

A Coeducational, College Preparatory School for Ages 3 Through Grade 12

The other one

Create a new Password

Please enter your username and create a new password.

"Eagle Edition" Wins Elite National Journalism Award for Third Consecutive Year

Before the Thanksgiving holidayESD's student newspaper won awards from National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) and Interscholastic Press League (ILPC). 

In addition to the individual awards listed below, the Eagle Edition also received the Newspaper Pacemaker Award for the third year in a row! The Pacemaker Award is scholastic journalism’s preeminent award and recognizes overall excellence and top student media produced during a particular school year.

"I’m always in awe of the quality of work the journalism kids produce," said advisor and journalism teacher Ana Rosenthal. "Their ability to work hard and think outside of the box, but always following high journalism standards, sets them apart and makes them stand out." Congratulations on this outstanding honor, Eagles!

CSPA Individual Gold Circle Awards (Columbia Scholastic Press Association)
These awards are presented to individual submissions and represent the nation’s best scholastic journalism. There are 49 contests in 11 total categories.

  • Riley Breaux '20, First Place in Single Feature Photograph, “Stuck at Home”
  • Lauren Egger '20, Second Place in News Page Design, “Worn with Pride” 
  • Gina Montagna '22, Commendable Mention in Sports Page Design, “Teams Sprint, Spike and Shoot Their Way to the Podium”
  • Sumner Wooldridge '21, First Place in Computer Generated Art/illustration, “Going Viral" (pictured)
  • Sumner Wooldridge, Commendable Mention in Cartoon Portfolio of Work   

ILPC Awards (Journalism Interscholastic League, University of Texas at Austin)

Newspaper Print Stars:

  • Silver Star, Eagle Edition

Newspaper Individual Achievement Awards:

  • Blair Batson '21
    • First Place, Personal Opinion Column
    • Second Place, Feature Writing
    • Honorable Mention, Entertainment Feature
    • Honorable Mention, Entertainment Review
    • Honorable Mention, In-Depth Feature with Alán Benítez and Jiaying Fu
  • Alán Benítez '20
    • Honorable Mention, In-Depth Feature with Blair Batson and Jiaying Fu
    • Honorable Mention, News Writing
  • Riley Breaux '20
    • First Place, General News Photo
    • Second Place, General News Photo
  • Smith Cochran '21
    • Third Place, Sports Column
  • Emily Delgado '20
    • Second Place, Student Art
    • Honorable Mention, Feature Writing
    • Honorable Mention, Headline Writing
  • Lauren Egger '20
    • Third Place, News Feature
    • Honorable Mention, News Page/Spread Design
    • Honorable Mention, Sports Feature
  • Jiaying Fu '21
    • First Place, Sports Feature
    • Third Place, In-Depth Feature with Victoria Willox
    • Honorable Mention, In-Depth Feature with Blair Batson and Alán Benítez
  • Sloane Hope '22
    • Top Newspaper Sports Story
    • First Place, Sports Story
  • Alexander Konradi '20
    • Honorable Mention, Sports Column
  • Carolyn Langford '22
    • Honorable Mention, News Feature
  • Emily Lichty '22
    • Second Place, Entertainment Feature
    • Second Place, Entertainment Review
  • Luke McCabe '21
    • Third Place, Sports Story
    • Sixth Place, Editorial Writing
  • Gina Montagna '22
    • Second Place, Personal Opinion Column
  • Gardiner Vose '21
    • Second Place, Feature Page/Spread Design
    • Second Place, News Writing
  • Alexandra Warner '23
    • Honorable Mention, Personal Column
  • Lauren Weber '21
    • Honorable Mention, Sports Page/Spread Design
  • Victoria Willox '21
    • Third Place, In-Depth Feature with Jiaying Fu
    • Honorable Mention, Feature Page/Spread Design
  • Sumner Wooldridge '21
    • First Place, Cartoon
    • Second Place, Comic Strip of the Year
  • Evelyn Zhao '21
    • First Place, Infographics/Sidebar
    • Second Place, Entertainment Page/Spread Design 
    • Third Place, Sports Page/Spread Design

Yearbook students Kate Flanagan '20, Caroline Massey '20, Rachel Morrow '20, and Jiaying Fu '21 also received fourth place for their COVID-19 Coverage Yearbook Spread. The Pacemaker Finalists for Yearbook will be announced in the spring.